The Red Panda

The tools I used for this sketch is a HB pencil for contrast and stumps and tortillion set to do the light shading around the dark areas of the red panda’s face. The best way I do this is by shading dark spots on a separate sheet of paper using an ebony pencil. Then a tortillion on the dark spot, just get a little on the tortillion then shade lightly on the desired areas, if you want it to be darker then repeat the same process.

This picture was thought of when I visited the Bronx zoo on my birthday in may, they were very mellow and laid back so I snapped a photo of them in their natural habitat, it was fun and very relaxing. if your into nature and wildlife I highly recommend you check this area out, as well as the central park zoo located in Manhattan, in the central park district.

Overall it took me an estimate of thirty minutes to complete, I wanted to leave it in black and white instead of coloring it in to give it a more dynamic effect, plus I wanted to really see the detail in the sketch.

 

 

 

Leave a comment